Need.Mexican.Food. (+ recipe: vegan sweet potato chili)

It started last week: an undeniable, insatiable urge for Mexican food. There aren’t many foods I miss from the US, but faux-mexican (i.e. Chipotle) is strangely high on the list. I spent the entire week pining unhappily for a black bean burrito or vegetarian taco until yesterday I finally decided I needed to fulfill my craving before it got out of control. As fate would have it, I was browsing the aisles of the organic market yesterday when I found: Mapuche Fire! Apparently this is a traditional spice mix of the Mapuche Indians of the Araucania region of Chile. I cannot verify the veracity of this statement, but it does make for great marketing copy – I plunked out € 8 for the tin…

I don’t know what Büffel gras is or whether it’s safe for human consumption, but I thought I would test its effects in a vegetarian chili. Effects: positive! It was delicious!

For my US readers: I found something that looks similar on Amazon called Merken Mapuche Spice. But I am sure that you could make a similarly tasty chili spice mix (sans buffalo grass, unless you happen to have some growing in your backyard) with some chili powder, cumin, cordiander, & cayenne pepper. Alternatively, I’d offer to send you a tin of Mapuche Feuer from Munich if you will pack a greasy Chipotle black bean burrito in an insulated lunch bag and smuggle it through customs for me. Fair trade, right? Who wants to be my burrito smuggler? What – no takers? C’mon….

I know, it’s time to post something other than recipes, but this chili is really worth sharing. My recipe is based on one by Cooking+Kate, who admits to stealing it from Cooking Light. Go figure.

You can tune in tomorrow for a super quick and adorable DIY craft project, but that has to remain a secret for a few more hours, since it’s a gift for a friend, so shhhh… 😉

Sweet Potato Chili
1 large red onion
1 sweet potato
1 each red, green & yellow bell pepper
2 tbsp. tomato paste
2 cloves garlic

3 cans tomatoes
1 can kidney beans
1 can black beans

Spices:
1tsp cocoa powder
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tbsp chili powder, or more, or less….
2 tbsp spice mix OR 2 tsp each cumin, coriander & cayenne
a pinch of brown sugar
salt & pepper

To garnish: 
cilantro
toasted pumpkin seeds

1. Saute the veggies & garlic, together with the tomato paste, until soft. Jamie Oliver once taught me that if you add tomato paste to a saute, it removes the “tinny” taste. I pass along the wisdom, free of charge.

2. Add everything else. Seriously, could this recipe be any easier? 3. Simmer for at least an hour.

4. Garnish and serve!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Need.Mexican.Food. (+ recipe: vegan sweet potato chili)

Leave a Reply

