All things new…

My spouse wanted to know what I am detoxing from…. tofu? Too many carrots? Excessive vitamin buildup in my liver?

My spouse has a valid point in asking what I am detoxing from…. and the answer isn’t pesticides, sugar residue, processed food remnants, or the like, but something far less tangible.  This week was a week of spiritual housecleaning. The green smoothies were only a metaphor for the cleanliness and concentration that I was trying to cultivate. By reducing the overabundance and excess choices of my life, I was hoping to find the pearl of great price, and sell (detox) everything else to gain it.

Ayurvedic wisdom has one word, Ama, that can refer to all of the gunk that builds up in our lives in a year (or a life), eventually wreaking havoc not only only on our physical bodies (headaches, depression, sickness) but on our minds and spirits.  Before Christmas I was feeling decidedly gunky. In fact, I was starting to wonder whether I actually take better care of my physical body than I do of my heart and soul. I exercise my body on average an hour a day; do I dedicate as much time to nourishing my soul with prayer and meditation? (That was a rhetorical question, but for the sake of completeness, the answer is: no.)

My dream for the coming year is to hone in on my passion, my mission, my vocation – the thing(s) that makes me want to get out of the bed in the morning and apply myself to life. But I felt like I had to get some things out of the way first – specifically, my sense of guilt / blame / bad karma for having first quit my PhD, then randomly abandoned my plans to go to law school. I’ve felt gunky about those things for long enough. Enough! Here I am, now, where I am, and this is where I have to start from, for whatever else I want to do in this and following years.

So! Let the adventure begin…

Isaiah 65:17-18a

17 For I am about to create new heavens
and a new earth;
the former things shall not be remembered
or come to mind.
18 But be glad and rejoice for ever
in what I am creating…

Amen!

One thought on “All things new…

  1. Well said, Emily. I love your refreshing viewpoint on starting here and how and going forward and will try to adopt the same attitude for myself in the new year. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

